Getting into the stride of 2017

Standard

So, this is a  stream of consciousness. Not my usual type of blog post at all.

It’s the result of conversations on Facebook with friend and soul coach Maria  Yum, my thought process on Starbucks and an empty stomach, and my euphoria from watching videos Commit Action puts together.

And man! We’re half-way through the first week of the year. It’s been amazing!

I pushed hard through the waning days of 2016 and as a result, I’ve been expanding my digital footprint. I want to stand out, collaborate, interact. The more I focus on personal and work specificity, the more selective I’ve become. And the more meaningful the connections have become, too.

I shared this earlier today and it ended up on LinkedIn. Since it’s  my firing synapses and not someone else’s, I wanted to take it home. I hope it’s food for thought. Please, dig in!

Specificity • Measurement • Deadlines

Specificity – sharply focused on freelancing and business projects, connecting and interacting—not in the abstract but in concrete actionable ways each day.

Measurement –  I’ll use the Seinfeld Method. Using iDoneThis where I can check off each day that I complete my daily goal. Keep doing this every day, and soon I’ll have a chain of days I’ve checked off. “Don’t break the chain!”

I’m gonna keep the chain unbroken based on My 5 Actionable Strides: Write Daily, Research Daily, Interact Daily, Create Daily, Live Daily

Deadlines – They’re not a chore, they’re THE implementation-action vehicle to super functioning.

Proximal Goal Setting

Proximal Goals are
short term
highly specific
deadline-based
implementation-action commitments

Proximal Goals Beat Distal Goals and Quixotic Goals. 

Distal Goals– are long-term goals that time and distance make fuzzy and unfocused
Quixotic Goals-noble sounding and unreachable. You know. Bullshit.

Proximal Goals Can still be Visionary and Optimal but
NO Goals Without Deadlines Allowed

  1. An Intention Cannot Become A Goal until it gets a Date Specific Requirement attached to it
  2. Make the linguistic shift to Urgent Significance. 

In my personal life, I tend to agree with psychologist Albert Ellis. He said no have to’s, no musts, no shoulds but that’s from outside conventions that want to impose on my inner life.

It’s an echo of Gertrude Stein (Yeah. Her again). She said:The one thing that everybody wants is to be free…not to be managed, threatened, directed, restrained, obliged, fearful, administered, they want none of these things they all want to feel free, the word discipline, and forbidden and investigated and imprisoned brings horror and fear into all hearts, they do not want to be afraid not more than is necessary in the ordinary business of living where one has to earn one’s living and has to fear want and disease and death….The only thing that anyone wants now is to be free, to be let alone, to live their life as they can, but not to be watched, controlled and scared, no no, not.

In This Context, This is about MY GOALS and there is an urgent sense of “MUST DO” “HAVE TO” “WILL DO”—It’s freedom in the sense of financial independence. BECAUSE I must be free, I have to be free, I will be free. It’s not a passion issue. It’s a champion issue.

Remember Muhamad Ali? I hated every minute of training, but I said, ‘Don’t quit. Suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion.’ 


 

A friend asked what my One Word for 2017 is. I said Interaction. A circle of friends and associates who share my dreams and values is what that’s about. We encourage each other and lift each other up. It’s a function of support and community. Got no time for haters. I have no time for the myopia of not knowing me but assuming you understand my life. Look, I’ve reinvented my career, my interests, my life, many times over. I’ve learned change is the only constant. Jobs decay, stuff disappears, relationships change, and opportunity is a shifting landscape. There are more slippery slopes in life than in Telluride. Performance is what matters.

My Values: The Big 18

Top 5 Values in bold
Significant 5 italicized
The Rest are Awesome

Commitment

*Contribution

Creativity

Curiosity

*Determination

Effectiveness

*Empathy 

Enjoyment

*Freedom

Generosity

Independence

Openness

Vision

Understanding

Thankfulness

*Self-actualization

Resourcefulness

Positivity

♠ Be real. No faking it. 
♥ Be a thought leader. Create a buzz around myself. 
♦ Avoid pitfalls. 
♣ Frame myself as having value to offer  – Ha! Royal Flush!

Value

“We think in money value. We think there is some invisible trap. We stopped believing in true caring and compassion. We stopped believing in love and our deservedness to receive. Why? My message is Believe in the Good in This World. Believe that you are Worthy! Be that Good. Do something nice for your fellow man.” ―Maria Yum

I hope this stream of consciousness, braindump, mindstream or whatever you want to call it resonates on some level with you. Food for thought. Consider a paradigm shift instead of a New Year’s Resolution. Do something really new. 2017-Be That Good

Visit Commit Action: https://www.commitaction.com

Leave a Reply

